top of page

Office Hours blog 2

In my second week of following a 4 hour daily office schedule I managed to stick to the timing schedule as well as the simple rules I had set up during the first week. The rules are #1 no distractions, #2 dont leave the room, #3 no working during "off time." I decided to take this week to experiment with working on multiple pieces at the same time. I placed 2 large panels set up on opposite sides of my studio so that I can work on one while not having to be distracted by the other one. I tried this during the current week and next week I will see what happens when I work on them while they are both in the same visual panel. I often find myself walking away from the painting I am working on and at times even covering my eyes so that I can have a fresh view of the work I have been so deeply involved in. This process was taken from "downtime" to an opportunity to work on another piece. I found this to be a highly effective and efficient use of my time. Instead of losing 3 minutes of work time waiting for the visual of the piece to fade away so that I can look at it through fresh eyes, I can work for 30 minutes on another painting and fill my mind with new visuals. Then when I turn around it is almost like I am seeing it for the first time, giving me a similar experience to that of a viewer walking into a gallery. This has been a truly exciting development.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page