top of page

Sarah Anne Johnson

Sarah Anne Johnson is a Canadian artist that recently caught my eye through a social media account of Juxtapoze magazine. I guess I need to research what it is I am so drawn to about female Canadian artists. She works in almost all mediums but the work I am drawn to is her photography which she then alters with watercolors. She says that when she takes a picture her main goal is simply to show what something looks like. Beautiful in its simplicity, but then when she works back into the photos she is trying to show how it feels physically and psychologically. The images caught my eye at first as simply being very beautiful, but then when I looked at more of them and read about some of her themes (everything from sexuality all the way to the human/nature relationship) I realized how much more there was to these works.


​​SMXLL

I have often considered using realistic imagery in conjunction with my abstract textural works, but I have never really taken to photography personally. I think I could continue researching her works from the angle of the real and unreal and how they can be visually balanced and connected.

I also like the idea of someone thinking of some things as showing how something looks and other things showing how the same thing feels. The idea of treating these two things as seperate entities, but representing them both on the same work is quite intriguing to me. And as we have seen through some of my more viscious artist research entries contemporary art that truly intrigues me does not come around every day.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page